The racing series

Who does not like to remember the great races of the 60s and 70s. Legends such as Jochen Rindt, Niki Lauda, Gerhard Berger, Sepp Schnitzer, “Strietzel” Stuck and Rauno Aaltonen have driven vehicles that were normally intended for road traffic at a breathtaking pace around the circuits in Europe.

The Histo Cup Austria revives this period. What started in 1998 with 7 fighters around Christian Schallenberg and Michael Steffny with the support of the sparkling wine producer “KATTUS” has become the largest motorsport family in Central Europe.


The consistent philosophy of the Histo Cup Austria – the right motorsport with classic racing cars and GT`s, hot fighting on the track and friends in the paddock. With over 300 active racing drivers an almost incredible success story.

Initially the racing cars were based on Annex K of the FIA and the former Group H regulations for vehicles with expired homologation. Due to the steady growth of the series, it soon became necessary to share the vehicles in “Histo Cup K” and Histo Cup STW “.

The vehicles of the years 1951 to 1981 inclusive must be built strictly according to the homologations and according to the provisions of Annex K of the FIA. Due to the lack of aerodynamics, the vehicles give a good wind shadow, stunning wind shadow duels and overtaking maneuvers, hot drifts and smoking tires are the order of the day.

Due to the fair allocation of points according to displacement classes, smaller vehicles also have chances of the coveted overall victory of the Histo Cup.

Otherwise just to stare at at a museum, historical racing cars from the Steyr Puch 650TR über Fiat Abarth1000, Mini Cooper S, Alfa Romeo GTA, BMW 2002, 3.0 CSL, 320, Ford Escort, Ford Capri, Renault, Jaguar  up to the Porsche 911’s, all of them can be seen again in “race action” at circuits.

Previous winners

1998 Gregor FrötscherTirolMini Cooper 1300 S
1999Gerd HörzingOberösterreichFord Escort 1600 Twin Cam
2000 Roland SpaziererWien Ford Capri 1600 GT
2001Michael SteffnySalzburg BMW 2002 ti
2002 Willi TheusslKärnten Lotus Elan R26
2003 Michael SteffnySalzburg BMW 2002ti
2004 Johannes Kraft Niederösterreich BMW 2002tii
2005 Norbert Lenzenweger Oberösterreich BMW 3.5 CSL
2006 Andreas StichWien Ford Escort RS 1600 BDA
2007 Dieter Karl Anton Niederösterreich Alfa Romeo GTA
2008 Michael Sares Wien Porsche 911 RS
2009Elmar Eifert (D) München BMW 2002 ti
2010 Dieter Karl Anton Niederösterreich Ford Escort RS 1600 BDA
2011 Dieter Karl AntonNiederösterreich Ford Escort RS 1600 BDA
2012 Thomas KaiserOberösterreich Austin Mini Cooper S
2013Thomas KaiserOberösterreichAustin Mini Cooper S
2014Stefan FuhrmannWien BMW 320-4
2015 David BecvarBrünn Jaguar XJS
2016 Alfred WeissengruberOberösterreich BMW 635i
2017 Manfred PledlSalzburg Ford Escort RS 1600 BDA
2018 Alfred WeissengruberOberösterreich BMW 635i
2019 Rico / Hans Fürtbauer Oberösterreich Ford GT 40
2020Jaroslav RejkaTschechienJaguar XJS